Ratings and Reviews
Browse Our Products
Browse Credit Card or
Choose a Product
Most Popular Products
Top-Rated Products
4.619 out of 5
4.485 out of 5
4.345 out of 5

Member Reviews for nRewards

nRewards

Easy rewards for everyday purchases
Average Member Rating:
4.345 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(678 Reviews) 678
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Distribution 678 reviews
5 stars
436
4 stars
126
3 stars
59
2 stars
28
1 star
29
59567388%of responding members would recommend this product.
Member Reviews for nRewards
Review 161 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great card! NFCU good to us again

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Member Since:  1990
Great card with good benefits. Love the rewards mall!
Member Since:  1990
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 162 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This card is the only one I need, thank you Navy Federal

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
from Manassas
Member Since:  1977
I rarely carry cash, using my nRewards Visa is much simpler and safer. And the points rack up fast! Groceries, dr appointments, tax payments, and any everyday purchases go right on the card. I can keep track of my spending and cut back when things get tight.
And I LOVE redeeming points! During the government shutdown last fall, I cashed in my points and had $250 for groceries and gas to get me through—wonderful.
I also love being a "credit card deadbeat" ie. my balance is paid in full every single month. Most banks charge you a fee for doing that, but not NFCU, and using this card pushed my credit score over 800! And I am NOT a big spender. Thank you nRewards, and Navy Federal.
Member Since:  1977
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 163 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love My NFCU NRewards Card

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
from San Antonio
Member Since:  1998
This card has the lowest interest rate out there from any other credit card companies and I have excellent credit.
I use this card for all my purchases whether small or big. Then I use my point to get NFCU gift cards to give away as gifts to my friends and family. So all my purchases through the year help my pay for gifts.
The credit card fraud is sensitive too so this comforting since i had a bad credit card fraud incident a few years ago, but I do have the NFCU stored on my phone cause it does get cut off frequently when I make big purchases.
Making payments to this card is also very easy since you already bank with NFCU all you have to do is transfer money over.
I am very satisfied with NFCU NRewards Credit card and I would highly recommend this card to anyone.
Member Since:  1998
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 164 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rewards card!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
from Washington
Member Since:  2004
Completely forgot this was a rewards card, but checked the balance today and realized I had a TON of points to redeem. It was a really nice surprise, and I had so many options to choose from. Lower APR than you can find elsewhere and it has been a great tool to help boost my credit score. If you're going to opt for a credit card, I would highly recommend this!
Member Since:  2004
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 165 for nRewards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lacks End of Year Summary/Reporting

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
from Poway
Member Since:  1973
Not a bad card, however I was extremely disappointed to learn that NFCU doesn't provide an annual summary for this card. Every other card I have provides for an annual statement that facilitates tax preparation and financial planning. Will be switching to the cash rewards card if I can confirm that it has the annual summary. In the meantime, I'll be using a non NFCU card.
Member Since:  1973
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 166 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Card

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
from New York
Member Since:  2011
I have been with Navy Federal for a few years. Joining this credit union was the best financial decision I've ever made. I went years without a credit card & didn't think I would be approved due to lack credit history. I applied for the nRewards card as per a friend and was approved instantly for a modest credit limit & seemingly high apr. WIthin a year my apr was lowered significantly as was my credit limit raised. The great thing is that this process has happened at least annually on my credit card account. The rewards you earn are a great perk if you find them useful. I am personally more interested in the absolute lowest apr as opposed to rewards or things. So after a few years I made a decision to transition to the platinum card. The transition was smooth with Navy Federal's top notch customer service which is highly important to me. I was even able to cash out the reward points I earned previously which was recommended by the customer service Rep as not to lose them in the transition. I am looking forward to my journey with the platinum card. I look at Navy Federal first before going elsewhere for auto loans, certificates etc. I will probably end up getting a home through Navy Federal! I dumped traditional banks within my first year as a member. I appreciate Navy Federal for helping me get on the right financial track. I can honestly say I love my credit union.
Member Since:  2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 167 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NFCU nRewards Card Supports Both Professional and Personal Life

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
from Fayetteville
Member Since:  1989
I have had a NFCU nRewards MasterCard for about 10 years. It has been an integral part of both my professional life as a Federal school teacher and my personal life. A number of costs to maintain classrooms for a teacher are out of pocket, and with this card, I have been able to successfully navigate that balance to ensure that I provide my students with quality school years. I am also grateful for the professional and friendly customer service that NFCU has provided me over the years as well. Also, as a AF Retiree, I highly recommend NFCU to every eligible individual with whom I am in contact. The service provided here at NFCU far exceeds that of any bank in this area.
Member Since:  1989
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 168 for nRewards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not fraud friendly

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
from Byron
Member Since:  1990
I've had no problems using my Visa and undoubtedly neither did the major cell phone provider employee either. Had my data hijacked from my iPad and that led to two charges of $50.75 on my Visa. Did the affidavit to have fraud charges taken off only to have the two charges placed back on my Visa by Navy Federal. Their explanation was that since I had conducted business with this company on a regular basis (I had automatic purchase of data charged to my card monthly) that they didn't consider this fraud. Now if I didn't make the purchases how can this not be fraud?!?! It's becoming a hassle trying to get the charges removed so don't let the "fraud protection" claims put you in a false sense of security!
Member Since:  1990
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 169 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
from Minneaolis
Member Since:  2005
I have had this card since I opened my account with NFCU, I have come a long way in those 8 years and this is a wonderful card to help anyone learn the importance of Credit. The rewards are great and do not take long them once you can decide what you wish to redeem them for. Also the reward do not expire so if you do not use the card often you can save up to get the large item.
Member Since:  2005
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 170 for nRewards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rewards Take Forever

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
from Wells
Member Since:  2007
The card is good, but not as good as other reward cards I've seen. They should increase the return rate for certain items like groceries and fuel. Get creative and give bigger returns for those good purchases.
Member Since:  2007
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 171 for nRewards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ehhh...ok

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
I have had two bad experiences with this card.
One: I wanted to be smart and take what was saved up and left from my financial aid from school to pay of a student loan. Well turns out you cant pay with a credit card (was going to charge over $6,000 to earn reward points then take the money and make a payment to the card). I asked NFCU about getting a check to use instead. However to my disappointment...IT DIDNT COUNT TOWARDS POINTS! ON TOP OF THAT NO ONE EVER MENTIONED THAT I WOULD BE CHARGED AN INTEREST CHARGE FOR THE LIFE OF THE AMOUNT ON MY CARD!! EVEN THOUGH I PAID OFF THE AMOUNT I USED IT FOR?!?!
Then when my husband and I fell on hard times because we relocated for his job they wouldn't give me an extension on a payment to the card. I have never missed a payment and I always pay more than the minimum! HOW IS THIS FAIR...?!?! Thanks to this I no longer use the card till my husband and I get caught up and only pay the minimum. Thanks for the understanding...not!
One plus...I noticed fraudulent charges on my credit card before they did. they just had me fill out a form and I was refunded my money no questions asked. This happens to my husbands checking frequently but it was a first for it to happen on a credit card. Beware of using your card at burger kings!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 172 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second Chances with NFCU

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
from Washington, DC
Member Since:  2011
After receiving my bankruptcy discharge, I was unsure of where to begin with repairing & rebuilding my credit standing. I decided to take a chance and apply for this card, instead of the secured version. To my surprise, I was approved with a more than reasonable credit limit!! I'm grateful for this second chance and will continue to praise the great customer service NFCU has provided me for the past 3 years.
Member Since:  2011
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 173 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this card

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
from Norfolk
Member Since:  2013
I really love this card I used it and received point and got not one but 2 gift cards I used as Christmas gifts
Member Since:  2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 174 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Card

PostedDecember 30, 2013
from Manassas
Member Since:  1996
When I got my first card from Navy Federal, it was a secured card that I used to build my credit. Through the years, I've stuck with my Navy Federal card, transitioning to an unsecured card, having my limit increased due to on-time payments, and even adding my husband to the card after we got married. In all the time I've had my Navy Federal credit card, I've never had an issue with it. Even when Navy Federal has called to verify purchases made using the card, I felt pleased that they'd go to that length to make sure no one was trying to steal my identity. The interest rate is very reasonable, and the rewards points feature is fantastic. I've been able to do a lot of home improvement projects thanks to the gift cards I've earned through using my card.
Member Since:  1996
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 175 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NFCU is awesome!!

PostedDecember 27, 2013
from Palm Bay
Member Since:  1999
NFCU is the best at giving chances and making things possible. I was afraid to apply for the credit card but I did and I was approved. This credit card allows me to improve my credit score and achieve more. I highly recommend everyone apply for this card.
Member Since:  1999
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 176 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thanks

PostedDecember 25, 2013
from Silverdale
Member Since:  2010
Great rewards card
Member Since:  2010
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 177 for nRewards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOSS of Rewards Points....UNFAIR!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
It's taken a few years to build up enough rewards points to obtain items I've had an interest in and was looking forward to getting them. Seems there is a rotation of items offered for users of the nRewards VISA card and some items require 10's of thousands of points, which means you have to spend 10's of thousands of dollars to acquire them. Problem with this offering is that by the time you acquire enough points to get an item you've been looking at, the item has either been removed from the availability list or you've lost points because they have a shelf life and expire after a certain length of time. Even if that time window is three or four years, it's too short and creates a forced rush to purchase items on the card just to get the reward points for a high point count item. My recommendation would be to make them "forever points", just like the USPS forever stamps, once purchased, the stamps are always good. Once you purchase with an NFCU nRewards VISA card you should always be able to keep the points you've earned because some of us are on tight budgets and it takes us time to acquire the quantity of points needed to get something we want. The window for use should be an absolute minimum of 5 years, not 3 or 4 as I've been told. So much for getting an item I wanted this year and using this card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 178 for nRewards
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Using YOUR Rewards

PostedDecember 9, 2013
from Philadelphia
Member Since:  1988
Be aware that when you redeem your rewards for a debit/gift card that if you do not use it after the first year, that you willbe assessed a $5 per month fee even though the card has yet to expire. I have always keep this card in my wallet for emergencies when was shocked to find out when using it for the first time, a monthly fee had been reducing my balance. Use it or lose up to $60 of it by doing nothing.
Member Since:  1988
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 179 for nRewards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank You

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Member Since:  2004
My credit was shot, due to my own negligence, but I needed another chance. This card was perfect! I opened with a $500 credit line, increased to $1500, and watched my credit score improve over the last year. I am please to announce I have just been upgraded from a secured card to an unsecured card. The cash back points certainly do not hurt either! I enjoy the Member Mall as well since I can earn extra points. The APR is high, but I do not mind being that I pay my balance in full on time each month. Thank you, Navy Federal!
Member Since:  2004
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 180 for nRewards
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

APR

PostedDecember 1, 2013
from Fort Wayne
Member Since:  2008
I got my credit card in 2008. my APR was high but I was 18 and it was my first line of credit ever so it didn't matter. I've called about lowering my interest because now I have a credit history and a decent credit score and I don't "qualify" for a lower interest rate. I've recently applied for a credit card without any history with that bank at all and received a lower interest that what NFCU is offering. As soon as I pay the credit card off I'm closing it.
Member Since:  2008
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 34 next>>
Federally insured by NCUA